UConn HomeThe UConn Advance
Send a printer-friendly page to my printer 
Email a link to this page.

High-achieving student-athletes recognized for academic success

- February 19, 2008

Continuing an established tradition, on Feb. 12 the Division of Athletics honored the University’s student-athletes who have a 3.0 grade point average.

The ceremony took place at half-time during the UConn vs. Georgetown women’s basketball game.

Approximately 300 student-athletes and team managers were eligible to take part in the ceremony, after earning a 3.0 grade point average in the 2007 spring and/or fall semesters.

They also were named to the Athletic Director’s Scholar-Athlete Honor Roll. Members of the UConn pep band and cheerleaders with a 3.0 GPA were also honored.

A number of student-athletes were honored for earning a perfect 4.0 GPA in either or both the fall and spring semester of 2007.

These include four members of the women’s track and field team: Phylicia George, a physiology and neurobiology major; Cassie Buckwalter, an education major; Mercedes Ball, an economics and political science major; and Kaitlin Vaughn, a molecular and cell biology major; two members of the rowing team: Elizabeth Littlewood, a physiology and neurobiology major; and Stephanie Bryant, a human development and family studies major; William Magin of the men’s swimming and diving team, a bio-medical engineering major; Nicole Tritter of the women’s ice hockey team, a biology major; Megan Doran of the women’s tennis team, a pre-kinesiology major; and Joseph Michaels of the men’s tennis team, a marketing major.

The UConn women’s tennis team, coached by Glenn Marshall, was again recognized as the top Husky athletic team in terms of grade point average, with an average GPA of 3.2.

A total of seven Husky teams earned an average GPA of 3.0 during the past academic year.

Staff members from UConn’s Counseling Program for Intercollegiate Athletes were also recognized during the event, including Bruce Cohen, director, Linda Bourgeois, Felicia Crump, Alana Linick, Ingrid Hohmann, Lisa Kuchmarsky, John Miceli, Mansour Ndiaye, Uyi Osunde, Vernon Percy, Ellen Rennie, Ted Taigen, Becky Taylor, and Michelle Wardwell.


ADVANCE HOME         UCONN HOME The UConn Advance
© University of Connecticut
Disclaimers, Privacy, & Copyright
EMail the Editor        Text only