UConn HomeThe UConn Advance
Send a printer-friendly page to my printer 
Email a link to this page.

Five new members elected to Foundation Board of Directors

by Art Sorrentino - November 7, 2005

The University of Connecticut Foundation Inc. has announced the election of five new directors, following its annual Board of Director’s meeting in October. The directors are active participants in governance, setting policy, serving as advocates for the Foundation and the University, and overseeing total assets worth more than $343 million.

Those elected were:

Theresa Bischoff is the chief executive officer of the American Red Cross in Greater New York, covering the five boroughs of New York City, as well as Putnam, Rockland, Orange, and Sullivan Counties. She previously served as president of New York University Hospitals Center and has been one of New York City’s most prominent healthcare administrators and an effective and articulate advocate for academic medicine. Bischoff received a bachelor’s degree in accounting from the UConn School of Business in 1975 and is a member of the School’s Hall of Fame.

Kelvin Cooper is the senior vice president of Worldwide Pharmaceutical Sciences at Pfizer Inc. He has led the pharmaceutical sciences organization since mid-2000, through the mergers and acquisitions of Warner-Lambert and Pharmacia. Cooper joined Pfizer in 1981 and went on to lead a variety of programs. He also served as head of exploratory development, managing the transition of development candidates from first nomination through the completion of Phase II. Cooper received a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Kingston University in London and a Ph.D. in organic chemistry from Nottingham University, U.K.

Kathleen Murphy is group president of ING’s U.S. Worksite and Institutional Financial Services, with responsibility for defined contribution, rollover/ payout, employee benefits, institutional markets, and group reinsurance business units. Murphy is also a member of ING’s U.S. Diversity Steering Committee and a director of the ING U.S. Foundation Board. Previously, she was general counsel and chief administrative officer for ING U.S. Financial Services. She earned a J.D. with highest honors from UConn in 1987, and graduated summa cum laude with a bachelor’s degree in economics and political science from Fairfield University.

Sharon Nunes is vice president of business development and productivity in IBM’s Systems & Technology Group. In this role she helps identify opportunities for revenue growth through venture capital companies and IBM business partners. She is a member of the advisory council of the Whitaker Biomedical Engineering Institute at Johns Hopkins University, a member of the Look College Engineering Advisory Council at Texas A&M University, and a board member of the Center for Security Technologies at Washington University in St. Louis. Nunes received her Ph.D. in materials science from UConn in 1983.

John Ritter is the executive vice president and secretary of First New England Capital, a direct investment capital firm. Before co-founding the company, he was an attorney in commercial litigation, first at Blume and Elbaum, and subsequently for the Independent Energy Corp. He is a member of the Connecticut and Hartford County Bar Associations, as well as the National Association of Small Business Investment Companies. He has served on the West Hartford Town Council and as a Connecticut legislator. Ritter received a bachelor’s degree from Macalester College, a master’s in religion from Yale University, and a J.D. from the UConn School of Law.

ADVANCE HOME         UCONN HOME The UConn Advance
© University of Connecticut
Disclaimers, Privacy, & Copyright
EMail the Editor        Text only