This is an archived article. For the latest news, go to the Advance Homepage
For more archives, go to the Advance Archive/Search Page.

Banner Advance Home Navigation Bar Advance Home Issue Index Read past articles Weekly Calendar

  September 13, 2004

Ratcliff To Head National Scholarships Office

Kathryn Strother Ratcliff has been appointed director of the Office of National Scholarships in the Office for Undergraduate Educational Enrichment. She assumed her duties June 1 and will serve on a part-time basis.

Image: Kay Ratcliff

Kay Ratcliff is the new director of the National Scholarships Office.
Photo by Melissa Arbo

An assistant professor of sociology, Ratcliff will lead an effort to recruit and mentor high-achieving students at the University to compete for prestigious national and international scholarships.

"Kathryn Ratcliff brings a long record of distinction and dedication to undergraduate education to her new position," says Lynne Goodstein, associate vice provost for under-graduate educational enrichment.

Ratcliff says her goals include raising student and faculty awareness of opportunities for prestigious scholarships, and identifying and working with promising candidates to compete successfully for the scholarships.

"Ideally, we would like to find exceptional students early in their academic careers, and then mentor them to have research experiences, community involvement, and volunteer activities," Ratcliff says. "These activities will not only enrich their educational experiences at UConn, but will also make them more competitive for scholarships."

This year, five prestigious national scholarships have been targeted: the Jack Kent Cooke, Barry M. Goldwater, James Madison, Harry S. Truman and Morris K. Udall. Also included are the USA Today all-USA Academic Team competition, and the Elie Wiesel Prize in Ethics.

Ratcliff, who joined the UConn faculty in 1983, received the 2002 Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award and was director of undergraduat e studies and honors program director for the sociology department. She is a specialist in the sociology of health.

She has served on university committees including the University Senate, the Advising Council, the Provost's Commission on the Status of Women, and the Service Learning Committee.

Ratcliff replaces Steven Zinn, who returned to the faculty of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources.