This is an archived article. For the latest news, go to the Advance Homepage
For more archives, go to the Advance Archive/Search Page.

January 21,2003

Substance Abuse Task Force Named
By Karen A. Grava

President Philip E. Austin has asked his recently named 24-member President's Task Force on Substance Abuse to develop by the end of March "workable recommendations", deadlines, and a list of the departments responsible for accomplishing the goals.

Headed by John DeWolf, professor of engineering, the task force includes faculty, staff, students, alumni, representatives of the Parents Association, and others.

Austin's charge to the task force is to define alcohol and substance abuse programs as they relate specifically to UConn; determine causes for the problem; and identify specific steps UConn administrator s, faculty, and students can take to mitigate the problem, including possible revisions to class scheduling.

The task force has also been asked to identify effective models used at other institutions to address similar problems, and to outline special issues that relate to students at severe risk.

Members of the task force are:

John DeWolf, engineering, chair
Amy Albert, Graduate Student Senate
Rhoda Averna, University Police
Thomas Babor, community medicine and health care
Sherry Bassi, nursing
Martin Berliner, Town of Mansfield
Patti Bostic, athletics
Frank Christison-Lagay, E.O. Smith High School
Hill Colbert, UConn Parents Association
Lynne Goodstein, Honors Program
Brandy Hare, resident hall director
Christopher Hattayer, Board of Trustees and alumnus
Victor Hesselbrock, psychiatry
Scott Hogan, undergraduate student
Dean Jolin, graduate student
Waldo Klein, social work
Lindsay Kosisko, Kappa Alpha Theta sorority
Maria Martinez, Center for Academic Programs
Jason Purzycki, Undergraduate Student Government
John Saddlemire, dean of students
Ronald Schurin, President's Office
Tony Smith, undergraduate student and resident advisor
Leslie Snyder, communication sciences
Damon Williams, multicultural affairs.