This is an archived article. For the latest news, go to the Advance Homepage
For more archives, go to the Advance Archive/Search Page.

  July 22, 2002

Chancellor's Research Fellowships,
Awards Announced for 2002-03

Chancellor's Research Fellowships
The recipients of the 2002-2003 Chancellor's Research Fellowships and 2002-2003 Chancellor's Research Excellence Awards were recently announced.

The Chancellor's Research Fellowship program offers an opportunity for release time from teaching for one semester to eligible faculty engaged in long-term research projects. This competitive program is designed to support and promote projects that cannot be funded through other, more traditional avenues.

Criteria for the fellowships include: excellence of the proposed project and its scholarly significance; evidence that the research project is

in the final, or near-to-final stages; evidence that other sources of support are not available to support completion of the project; evidence that release time from teaching is crucial in order to complete the project.

Frederick Biggs, associate professor, English
Spring 2003, "Beowulf and the Politics of Succession"
Anne Dailey, professor, law
Spring 2003, "When Reasonable Minds Differ: Psychoanalysis, Scientific Psychology and the Law"
Patrick Hogan, professor, English
Fall 2002, "Cognitive Science, Literature, and the Arts"
Richard Langlois, professor, economics
Fall 2002, "Modularity, Knowledge Base, and Economic Growth"
Philip Mannheim, professor, physics
Fall 2002, "Brane Localized Gravity"
Deborah Muirhead, professor, art & art history
Fall 2002, "Artists' Book Project"

Chancellor's Research Excellence Awards
The Chancellor's Research Excellence Awards recognize excellence in research among tenured faculty at the Storrs and regional campuses. The awards are open to faculty in all disciplines. Up to four awards are made, and each is accompanied by a Research Excellence designation and a stipend of $2,500, to be used at the awardee's discretion in support of his or her research.

The review committee takes into account the following factors when evaluating the nominations:

  • Is the research seminal? Has the work had an important impact on a field of research enough to open up new avenues and approaches?

  • Has the research had a national or international impact, and can this wide impact be determined from the supporting documents included with the nomination?

  • What influence has the nominee had on the promotion of research at the University, such as mentoring students and colleagues?

The recipients, to be honored at the May 2003 graduate commencement ceremony, are:

Frank Costigliola, professor, history
Harry Frank, professor, chemistry
Phillip Gould, professor, physics
Bahram Javidi, professor, electrical and computer engineering

Issue Index