This is an archived article. For the latest news, go to the Advance Homepage
For more archives, go to the Advance Archive/Search Page.

  December 10, 2001

Group to Study Student Fees

A committee, co-chaired by Fred Maryanski, vice chancellor for academic affairs, and Vicky Triponey, vice chancellor for student affairs, has been charged with developing a framework to systematize student fees.

The committee, which has been asked to report by March 15 to Chancellor John D. Petersen and Lorraine Aronson, vice president for financial planning and management, will look at the fee structure exclusive of the infrastructure maintenance fee, tuition, room and board. The two administrators hope to have the student fee framework ready for presentation during the Board of Trustees' budget workshop in June.

"We would like the committee to provide us with information and recommendations that will promote a fee structure that supports excellence, and with procedures that are comprehensive and uniform without sacrificing efficiency and flexibility," Petersen and Aronson said in a letter of appointment to committee members.

Committee members have been asked to develop a fee model to appropriately balance general University-wide needs with specific individual user needs, and balance tuition support with specialized classroom materials requirements.

The committee has also been asked to develop a model that will ensure student activity fees are developed with maximum student involvement.

Two sub-committees have been established, one to review student activity fees and the other to look at academic fees.

Members of the committee are: students Chris Hattayer, student trustee and president of the Undergraduate Student Government; Ryan Byrne, a senior who is comptroller of the Undergraduate Student Government; Meredith Cadiz, a junior who represents the Student Union Board of Governors; Jocelyn Tamborello, a junior; and Mariana Lambova, a member of the Graduate Student Senate; faculty members Art Dimock, assistant head of chemistry; Phil Yeagle, professor and head of molecular and cell biology; Rob Hoskin, associate professor of accounting; Ron Growney, associate dean of liberal arts and sciences; and Ted Yungclas, assistant dean of fine arts; and staff members Roxanne Donovan, budget analyst; Chris Giordano, assistant dean of students; Denise Guerra, assistant finance director; Gary Lewicki, assistant vice president for financial planning and management; Julie Raynor, business manager, athletics; and Eddie Daniels, director of campus activities.

Karen A. Grava