This is an archived article. For the latest news, go to the Advance Homepage
For more archives, go to the Advance Archive/Search Page.

  April 30, 2001

Excellence in Teaching Celebrated

Faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to teaching and learning at the University were honored April 17, during a ceremony in the Rome Commons Ballroom hosted by Susan Steele, vice provost for undergraduate education and instruction.

Steele said it is critical to recognize and acknowledge excellence in teaching and advising.

"Excellence in research yields external and visible rewards," she said, "but because teaching and advising involves students, not disciplinary or departmental colleagues, excellence in teaching is less likely to yield recognition.

The award ceremony represented one form of recognition, and contributed to the discussion of how to measure excellence in teaching and advising, she added.

Chancellor John D. Petersen also emphasized the importance of honoring the teaching achievements of faculty: "Outstanding teaching generates eagerness to learn."

Elizabeth Omara-Otunnu

Faculty and graduate students who received awards during the ceremony were:

First Year Experience Teaching Award
Judith Brown, Allied Health, Diagnostic Genetic Sciences
John Riesen, Animal Science

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award
Christie Cathey, Psychology
Lesley Withers, Communication Sciences

Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award
Steven Zinn, Animal Science

2001-2002 Teaching Fellows
Thomas DeFranco, Curriculum & Instruction/Mathematics
Karl Guillard, Plant Science
Andrew Rosman, Accounting

Other faculty award-winners who were recognized were:

School of Allied Health
Mary Murphy, Physical Therapy
2000 Golden Apple Award for Teaching Excellence

College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
Michael Darre, Animal Science
CANR Alumni Association Teaching Excellence
John Riesen, Animal Science
USDA Food & Agriculture Sciences Excellence in Teaching

School of Business Administration
Deborah Kidder, Management
Undergraduate Teaching Award
Katherine Pancak, Finance
Innovations in Teaching Award
Girish Punj, Marketing
Graduate Teaching Award

School of Engineering
John DeWolf, Civil Engineering
C.R. Klewin Inc. Excellence in Teaching 2000
Eric Donkor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
2000 Outstanding Teaching Faculty
Thomas Wood, Chemical Engineering
Rogers Teaching Award

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
William Berentsen, Geography
National Council of Geographic Education Award for Distinguished College/University Teaching - 2000
Thomas Lewis, Geography
National Council of Geographic Education Award for Distinguished College/University Teaching - 1999
Kristine Nowak, Communication Sciences
Sigma Phi Epsilon's Outstanding Professor of the Year 2000

School of Nursing
Jane Murdock
Josephine Dolan Award for Outstanding Contributions to Nursing Education

School of Pharmacy
Michael White
Teacher of the Year

Kevin Murphy, Mechanical Engineering
Teaching Promise - 2000
Peter Miniutti, Plant Science
Teaching Promise - 2000
David D'Alessio, Communication Sciences
Innovation in Teaching - 2000

Board of Trustees 2001 Distinguished Professors
Carl David Benson, English
Robert Colwell, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Ruth Millikan, Philosophy
Steven Suib, Chemistry
John Veiga, Management

UConn Alumni Association
Douglas Cooper, Chemical Engineering
Faculty Excellence in Teaching
Achilles Pappano, Pharmacology, School of Medicine
Faculty Excellence in Teaching

Issue Index