This is an archived article. For the latest news, go to the Advance Homepage.
For more archives, go to the Advance Archive/Search Page

Application forms for Fulbright Scholar Program available
Announcement booklets and application forms for the 2000-2001 Fulbright Scholar Program for university lecturing and postdoctoral research abroad are now available from the Fulbright program adviser. The Fulbright Scholar Program for 2000-2001 includes more than 850 awards for research, combined research and lecturing, or university lecturing in 125 countries. Opportunities range from two months to a full academic year. The basic eligibility requirements are U.S. citizenship and Ph.D. or comparable academic or professional qualifications. There is a single deadline of August 1 for research and lecturing grants to all world areas. Other deadlines are in place for special programs. For further information and applications, contact the Fulbright program adviser, Mal Bochner, U-182, Office of International Affairs, Human Development Building, Room 15. Phone (860) 486-2908, e-mail:

The website is at

Media relations forum scheduled for April 16
A media relations forum will be held Friday, April 16, to help introduce students and professionals to the skills needed for effectively communicating with the media. The forum will take place in Student Union Room 382, from 7-9 p.m. Refreshments will be served. The speakers will be Peter Gioia of the Connecticut Business and Industry Association, Steven Wisensale, associate professor of family studies, and Elizabeth Smith, assistant professor of political science. The event is sponsored by the Association of Masters in Public Affairs Students and Pi Alpha Alpha honor society. For information, call (860) 486-4518.

Berkley to be panelist for entrepreneurship program
William R. Berkley will speaker during this year's Wolff Program in Entrepreneurship & Distinguished Lecture Series on April 21. Berkley, a Trustee of the University since 1993, who founded the property and casualty insurance holding company, W.R. Berkley Corporation, and is its chairman & CEO, will be part of an afternoon panel discussion on "The Role of Failure on the Road to Entrepreneurial Success." Other panelists will include business leaders and UConn alumni Dennis J. and Joan L. Rusconi, David J. Salvin, and Thomas J. Wolff. The event is sponsored by The Thomas J. & Bette Wolff Family Program in Entrepreneurship. The panel will begin at 2 p.m. in the School of Business Administration, Room122, and is open to everyone in the University community.

The program will continue at 3:30 p.m. with the Second Annual Business Plan Competition, also in SBA Room 122, when some of UConn's top MBA students will present their business plans. A total of $5,000 will be awarded to participants to be applied to the start-up costs of their plans. Members of the University community are welcome to attend.

UConn earns second place in stock competition
The University's Stock Challenge team has placed second in an interscholastic competition. The team was honored at a banquet last month and received an award of $13,500 for the University's scholarship fund. First place went to the University of Pittsburgh.

The Big East Stock Challenge was sponsored by Tucker Anthony, an investment bank and brokerage firm. Teams of undergraduate business students from each of the Big East Conference schools competed to manage stock portfolios with a goal of maximum total return. Each team invested a hypothetical $250,000. The UConn team gained a return of more than 67 percent on their portfolio during an eight-week period from October 30 to February 9. Over the same period, the S&P 500 was up 22 percent. The scholarship money was earned through three-point shots made by Big East players during the men's regular college basketball season. For every three-point shot, Tucker Anthony donated $50.

The team was represented at the banquet by faculty advisor David Fricke, a lecturer in finance; Rob Hoskin, associate dean of business administration; and Linda Klein, acting associate chair of the finance department. Team participants were Pak-Yin Sit, Michael Trefz, Jack Wlodkowski, Shamira Youkaneh, Aaron Robinson, Lisa Renna, Amy Brockway, Peter Angelopoulos, and Craig Doucette.