This is an archived article. For the latest news, go to the Advance Homepage
For more archives, go to the Advance Archive/Search Page.
Two receive McCullough
student leadership awards
May 4, 1998

The 19th annual Donald L. McCullough Memorial Award, the University's highest student leadership award, was presented April 22 by Vicky Triponey, vice chancellor for student affairs and services, to seniors Michael Allenby and Alyssa Benedict.

Allenby has been involved with the Student Union Board of Governors for four years, serving as concert chair, vice president for programming and president. He was also an orientation leader, Tau Beta Pi national engineering honor society officer, a member of the honors program and was listed in Who's Who in American Colleges and Universities. (See related article.

Benedict has been involved with UConn PIRG for four years, serving as a UConn chair, state board chair, and a member of the National Student Forum. She also has been involved with the UConn UVote Coalition, St. Thomas Aquinas Church, the University Senate, and a wide variety of community service activities.

The awards were presented at the annual student leaders reception sponsored by the Division of Student Affairs and Services to honor all student leaders at the University.